Capital Growth Coupled with the Principles of Production Expansion

No, this isn’t about economics. Believe it or not, the title of this post is from one of the chapters in the book I’m reviewing, Lawn Boy. Lawn Boy was written by Gary Paulsen, the award winning author of Hatchet which I have heard fabulous things about.

Several of my fellow school librarians said they liked this book. I did not. The book was very informative on the subjects of economics and business. I’ll give it that. I almost majored in business and accounting, and I have five accounting classes under my belt which I all aced. I’m pretty book smart, not so much the other smart. πŸ™‚

So anyway, I don’t mind reading about the business world. But for pleasure reading, it must have a strong, interesting plot. Sure, I like learning about new things, but if I don’t find the story interesting, I’m done. I don’t want to learn more. I refuse to.

The book is about a boy who is given a riding lawn mower for his birthday and decides to start mowing people’s yards. As his business grows, so do his problems. He learns about profit margins and the stock market from a strange looking neighbor who claims to be a stockbroker.

The book is only 88 pages and, as some other reviewers pointed out, is a short read. Someone please tell me why the shortness of a book is considered a plus in some readers’ minds? Obviously, they really don’t like the story if they’re getting excited about it ending soon.

If your child likes learning about business or wants to have their own raking leaves or lemonade stand company, then this book might interest them. But parents, please don’t make them read it if they don’t find the topic intriguing, even if it’s a “short read.”
I give this book 0 out of 5 chocolate bars. Rating = Hey, who ate all the chocolate?

3 thoughts on “Capital Growth Coupled with the Principles of Production Expansion

  1. I have a feeling this book would leave me broken and crying in a corner, much less my five-year-old daughter. When it comes to accounting I need a book for dummies, a patient teacher, and an old priest and a young priest.

    And if that doesn’t do it, maybe Suze Orman? πŸ˜‰

    • I know, as a third grader I didn’t care anything about the stock market or how to increase profit quotas. If I was going to have a business like a lemonade stand, I only cared about making the drink and getting the money, that’s it. I wouldn’t mind having Suze Orman now to help with my finances. lol πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

